Isleta Pueblo Politics

By Christopher L. Abeita

Subscribe via Email

Don't miss a post. Enter your email to receive notifications of new posts.

Isleta Tribal Council Select Officers for 2015-2016 Term

symbolNominations for President of the Council

This morning at 10:00 a.m the newly elected Council Members held a meeting to select the persons that will serve as officers of the incoming Tribal Council.

The Isleta Tribal Constitution requires the newly elected Council Members to select their officers on January 1st following the general election, which occurred on November 29, 2014.1)Isleta Tribal Constitution, Art. VI, Section 11.

For the 2015-2016 term, voters selected:

Ulysses Abeita (119);  
Verna Teller (98) (Incumbent);
Fernando Abeita (97) (Incumbent);
Betty Lente (86);
Frank Lujan (74);
Michael Allen Lente (73) (Incumbent); &
Barbara Sanchez (73) (Incumbent).

The number in parenthesis is the number of votes received during the November 29th election. 

Betty Lente nominated Verna Teller for President and Fernando Abeita seconded the nomination;

Barbara Sanchez nominated Frank Lujan for President and Verna Teller seconded the nomination; &

Fernando Abeita nominated Michael Allen Lente for President. *No one seconded the nomination of Michael Allen Lente. So, Lente seconded his own nomination.

The Council then voted by secret ballot and former Governor Frank Lujan was selected to serve as the new President with three votes.


Fernando Abeita nominated Michael Allen Lente for Vice-President and Ulysses Abeita seconded the nomination.

Betty Lente nominated Verna Teller for Vice-President. No one seconded Teller’s nomination and Teller did not second her own nomination. As a result, the newly elected Council Members did not consider Teller a valid nominee.

Since no one else was nominated, Michael Allen Lente became Vice-President by acclamation.


Fernando Abeita nominated Ulysses Abeita for Secretary. However, Abeita declined the nomination.

Verna Teller nominated Fernando Abeita for Secretary. Initially, Abeita also declined. But, he reconsidered and accepted the nomination.

Michael Allen Lente nominated Barbara Sanchez for Secretary. Fernando Abeita seconded the nomination.

The Council voted by secret ballot and Barbara Sanchez became Secretary of the Council with four votes.

2015-2016 Term

The term of office for the newly elected Council Members begins on January 6th.2)Id at Art. VI, Section 12. The new Council will hold their first meeting at the Tribal Council Building on Tuesday, January 6, 2015, at 9:00 a.m.

Isleta Resort & Casino Can’t Keep Pace with Sandia

References   [ + ]

What are your thoughts?

Isleta Pueblo Politics © 2014 Frontier Theme
%d bloggers like this: